WoW Forever Opening Raids: No Attunement Requirement at Launch
Wednesday, September 23, 2026By Indie Kings | September 23, 2026
Updated September 23, 2026: The opening raids in World of Warcraft: Forever will not require attunement, according to a But Why Tho? developer interview. Blizzard's official What’s Next recap confirms the two opening raids and their December 9 unlock date, but it does not publish the attunement rule. Future post-launch raid requirements remain unanswered.
Image: World of Warcraft Forever raid announcement artwork. Credit: Blizzard Entertainment.
What Blizzard has confirmed
World of Warcraft: Forever launches globally on November 4, 2026, according to Blizzard's official What’s Next panel recap. The same recap says new raids unlock on December 9. Two opening destinations are named: Barrow Deeps for 10 players and Hyjal Summit for 20 players.
Those official details describe the raids and their format. They do not say whether players must complete a quest, meet a reputation requirement, or obtain an attunement before entering.
| Opening raid | Format | Official timing | Attunement detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Barrow Deeps | 10 player | December 9, 2026 | Not stated in Blizzard recap |
| Hyjal Summit | 20 player | December 9, 2026 | Not stated in Blizzard recap |
Why opening raids need no attunement
In its September 16 update, But Why Tho? says the Forever team was asked about attunement for the new opening raids. The answer was that the opening raids will not require attunement to enter. The interview compares that choice with the original entry-level raids, where access did not depend on the later attunement pattern.
This is a developer-interview report, not a line in Blizzard's launch documentation. The safe conclusion is narrow: players should not expect an attunement gate for the first two raids based on the current interview coverage.
What is still unknown
The same interview did not settle how later raids will handle entry. The developer left future post-launch endgame requirements unanswered, so it would be premature to claim that every Forever raid will be attunement-free.
| Question | Current answer | Source quality |
|---|---|---|
| Do Barrow Deeps and Hyjal Summit require attunement? | Reported no | Developer interview relayed by But Why Tho? |
| Will later Forever raids require attunement? | Unknown | Developer intentionally left it unanswered |
| Did Blizzard publish a universal Forever rule? | No such rule appears in the reviewed What’s Next recap | Official recap reviewed September 23 |
What raid leaders should plan now
Raid leaders can plan around the reported opening rule without treating it as a permanent system:
- Tell applicants that the first two raids are reported not to require attunement.
- Avoid promising that later raids will follow the same entry model.
- Confirm the current lockout, roster, and attendance rules separately from access requirements.
- Recheck Blizzard's launch notes and in-game tooltips when December 9 approaches.
- Keep an alternative plan for guilds whose members play different schedules or regions.
How this differs from older attunement patterns
Attunement is a gate that can require completion of a quest chain or related prerequisite before a player can enter content. The opening Forever raids are reported not to use that gate. That makes access simpler for a first raid, but it does not establish how the developers will handle unlock progression after launch.
The distinction matters for research queries and guide planning. Search for the specific raid name when checking requirements, and avoid generalizing from World of Warcraft expansions that followed different entrance systems.
FAQ
Do WoW Forever opening raids require attunement?
The opening Barrow Deeps and Hyjal Summit raids are reported not to require attunement, according to the But Why Tho? developer interview.
Is the no-attunement rule from Blizzard’s official recap?
No. Blizzard's official recap confirms the raids, sizes, and December 9 unlock date. The attunement answer comes from the developer interview coverage.
When do WoW Forever raids unlock?
Blizzard's official What’s Next recap says new raids unlock on December 9, 2026.
Will every later Forever raid skip attunement?
That remains unknown. The developer interview left future post-launch raid requirements unanswered.
What is the difference between opening raids and later raids?
The opening raids are the two destinations named for the December 9 unlock. Later raid requirements have not been specified.
Should guilds plan an attunement quest chain now?
No evidence currently supports that plan for the opening raids. Recheck official notes as more information arrives.
Bottom Line
WoW Forever's opening raids are reported not to require attunement, while future raid requirements remain unknown. Treat the first two raids as accessible on current evidence, and do not turn that interview answer into a universal rule.
Related: WoW Forever raids: Barrow Deeps and Hyjal Summit | WoW Forever launch date and beta details