The Witcher 3 Remastered Settings Menu, as CDPR Documented It. GTAO Is New and One Rename May Break Your Route

By Indie Kings | September 28, 2026

Updated September 28, 2026: The Witcher 3 Remastered launches tomorrow with a settings menu that CD Projekt Red has partly documented for the first time, and the documentation is unusually specific in places. The change list gives exact menu paths, and for the accessibility preset it gives the literal interface labels in quotation marks, including "Activates below (%) Vitality" and "Regeneration Intensity". It also renames a settings section, adds GTAO as a new screen space ambient occlusion option, and documents the five graphics presets and three upscaler paths. This is a reference built from the published list, with the gaps marked as gaps rather than filled in.

The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt Remastered, whose settings menu gains a new occlusion option and a reworked interface section

Image: The Remastered. Credit: CD Projekt Red.

The menu paths the developer actually named

A settings reference is only useful if the paths are right, so this starts with the paths CD Projekt Red published rather than with a guess at where things live.

The change list names a menu location in exactly four places, and those four are the whole of the documented navigation.

Path as publishedOptionWhat it does
Settings, then Video, then InterfaceHide herbs, boats and corpses on the minimapFor a cleaner, less distracting minimap
Settings, then GameplayGroup nearby loot into a single windowInstead of browsing multiple loot windows
Settings, then GameplayLoot feedShows recently collected items on the left of the screen, and can be disabled here
Settings, then ControlsHorse control input sensitivityA new slider
Accessibility sectionBard's Ballad presetCan be enabled here during a game, or at new game start

Two of those are worth pausing on. The loot options both live under Gameplay rather than under Interface, which is a slightly counterintuitive home for something that changes what appears on screen, and the horse sensitivity slider is the developer answering a specific complaint. The change list notes separately that cantering and galloping now requires pressing a button instead of holding it, and a sensitivity slider appearing in the same update is the response to the same irritation. That pairing is a useful signal about how this menu will treat complaints: a behaviour change plus a tuning option, rather than a behaviour change alone.

Everything else in the settings surface is described by what it changes rather than where it lives, which is the honest limit of what the published documentation supports.

The HUD Configuration rename, and a navigation question it creates

One settings section has been renamed, and the rename produces a genuine question that only the game can answer.

The change list states: "Renamed the 'HUD Configuration' section in Settings to 'Interface'."

Set against the documented path for the minimap filters, which is Settings, then Video, then Interface, there is now a possible collision. If the old HUD Configuration section is now called Interface, and there is also an Interface under Video, then either the sections have been merged, or there are two separate entries both called Interface in different parts of the tree, or the minimap options were moved into the renamed section and the published path is describing the old location.

None of those three readings can be resolved from the documentation, and the difference matters. A player looking for the minimap filters who finds a top-level Interface section that does not contain them will conclude the option is missing rather than that they are in the wrong branch. It is a small thing, and it is exactly the kind of small thing that generates a support question on day one.

The general shape of the change is the more substantive observation. Consolidating interface options under a single name, and adding an Accessibility section that existing accessibility options were moved into, is the menu being reorganised rather than merely extended. A rebuilt DirectX 12 renderer with a reworked Photo Mode implies a rebuilt settings screen behind it, and a settings reference written against the 2015 game's menu would be worse than useless. This one is written against the new one.

The five presets and what changes between them

CD Projekt Red publishes five graphics presets, and the names come from the official requirements table rather than from the settings screen.

They are Low, High, Ultra, RT, and RT: Ultra, and they appear as the "In-game Graphics Preset" row across the six hardware tiers, from Minimum through Path Tracing. The mapping is consistent: Minimum is Low, Recommended is High, Ultra is Ultra, RT Minimum is RT, and both RT Recommended and Path Tracing are RT: Ultra.

That is a useful thing to know before launching, because it means the preset names in the requirements table are the preset names in the menu, and a player can pick the tier they intend to run. The RT presets are ray-traced presets, and the fact that Path Tracing uses the same RT: Ultra preset name as RT Recommended is a detail worth knowing, since it means the path tracing difference is not a separate preset but a further option within it.

What the list does not do is enumerate the individual toggles inside any of the five presets. There is no published list of every graphics option in the game, which is the single largest gap in this reference and the reason a piece like this can only be a partial map.

One new graphics option is named, and it is a meaningful one. GTAO, which stands for Ground Truth Ambient Occlusion, has been added as a new Screen Space Ambient Occlusion option. The addition of a ground truth option alongside an existing screen space one is the standard progression for a deferred renderer, and it matters because the two produce different results from the same input. Any existing presets or guides that recommended a particular SSAO setting are describing a choice that now has an alternative.

The three upscaler paths, and the AMD hardware gate

The upscaler section is the best documented part of the PC settings surface, and it contains one hardware gate that changes what a specific card can do.

VendorPublished supportCondition
NVIDIADLSS 4.5, together with Ray ReconstructionNone stated
AMDFSR 4, including Frame Generation and Anti-Lag 2RX 7000 series and newer. Below that, the game uses FSR 2
IntelXeSS 2.0, together with Frame Generation and Low LatencyNone stated

Three details are worth carrying separately. Ray Reconstruction is listed as part of DLSS 4.5 support, and Ray Reconstruction is a frame-level reconstruction technique rather than a resolution upscaler, so it applies to the path traced rendering path rather than being an alternative to it. Anti-Lag 2 on the AMD side and Low Latency on the Intel side are latency-reduction options paired with frame generation, and both vendors therefore ship an input-latency mitigation alongside their frame generation, which is a direct response to frame generation's known cost.

And the AMD gate is the one that changes behaviour. FSR 4 is limited to the Radeon RX 7000 series and newer, with FSR 2 used below that. This is the same restriction published in the changelog and it is worth cross-referencing against the official requirements table published the same day, which names the RX 6600 XT as the Recommended-tier and RT Minimum AMD GPU. A player on the card CDPR recommends cannot run the FSR 4 CDPR has documented, and will silently receive FSR 2 instead. Nothing in the interface is stated to indicate that substitution, which makes it worth checking which upscaler is actually active if frame generation behaviour looks unfamiliar on a pre-7000 card.

Path tracing support is also listed under the PC-specific section, and the requirements table places it in the same column as DLSS with a 2160p target. Two further graphics features are named as additions rather than options: Ray-Traced HairWorks for hair lighting and shading, and an expanded HDR calibration panel. A reviewer who tested a pre-release build enabled the path traced hair option and reported it doing little to bring hair up to contemporary standards, which is that reviewer's finding rather than a measurement.

The accessibility section, with the exact labels

This is the part of the settings surface where the developer has been unusually generous with detail, and it is the only place where the literal interface text has been published.

A new Accessibility section was added to the Settings menu, with existing accessibility-related options moved into it. The Bard's Ballad preset can be enabled there during a game, or when starting a new game on the Just the Story difficulty.

The preset applies seven effects, and for two of them the changelog gives the actual on-screen labels in quotation marks. That is unusual specificity and it is exactly what a settings reference needs.

EffectSetting labels as publishedWhat it controls
Vitality Regeneration Boost"Activates below (%) Vitality" and "Regeneration Intensity"Two separate values: the vitality percentage at which regeneration begins, and how fast vitality climbs
Infinite BreathNot labelledGeralt cannot run out of oxygen while swimming or diving
Unlimited Item DurabilityNot labelledGear never wears down, so no visits to craftsmen for repairs
Unlimited Boat DurabilityNot labelledBoats become indestructible
Ignore Item WeightNot labelledCarry as much as you want
Faster BoatsNot labelledSail faster across the seas, which the changelog notes makes the seas around Skellige smaller
Toggle Witcher SenseNot labelledTurn it on and off without holding the button

The design point worth drawing out is that Vitality Regeneration Boost is the only effect with published, adjustable parameters, and it has two of them on two different axes. One is a threshold, the other is a rate. That means a player who wants less health pressure but the same combat can set the threshold without touching the rate, which is a meaningfully finer control than a single preset toggle.

The other six effects are described by what they do rather than by what they are called in the interface, and the changelog does not label them. It is also not stated whether they are individually toggleable or only available as part of the preset, except in the case of Vitality Regeneration Boost, whose two parameters are explicitly described as adjustable. Whether a player can take Infinite Breath without taking Ignore Item Weight is the obvious follow-up question and it is not answered. That is the second thing to look up in-game.

Ukrainian text localisation was added alongside the new section, which is a content addition rather than a setting but sits in the same entry.

The interface options that were added or moved

Beyond the paths already covered, the change list documents a set of interface and gameplay options whose existence is confirmed even where their location is not.

  • Hide herbs, boats and corpses on the minimap, in Settings then Video then Interface, for a cleaner, less distracting view.
  • Group nearby loot into a single window, in Settings then Gameplay, so multiple loot windows no longer need browsing.
  • A loot feed on the left side of the screen showing recently collected items, which can be disabled in Settings then Gameplay.
  • Item tooltips in the loot window, allowing an item's details to be previewed before picking it up.
  • An updated map screen for switching between tracked quests more easily, with untracked quests given a distinct marker that can be tracked by selecting it.
  • Combined quest notifications, merged into a single HUD notification rather than separate ones.
  • A confirmation prompt before exiting Photo Mode, and a visible cursor on PC with a mouse.
  • Meditation as a timelapse rather than a UI screen.

Six of those eight change what appears on screen, and four of them add or move a list or a window. That is the pattern to expect from this menu: a rebuilt renderer and a rebuilt Photo Mode, with the interface options following behind them. The loot grouping, the loot feed and the item tooltips are a coherent set aimed at one specific problem, which is that the original game's loot windows were small, numerous and required tabbing through, and in combat with a controller that is worse than it sounds.

What this reference does not cover, and why

The gaps are listed rather than filled, because the useful thing about a partial map is knowing which parts are missing.

  • No list of individual graphics options. The five preset names are published. The toggles inside them are not, and this is the largest gap by far. Anyone wanting to tune the remastered game properly will have to enumerate the options in-game.
  • No config file path. The remastered game's configuration file location is not stated anywhere in the published documentation, and the old REDengine paths are no longer a safe guide now that the game is native DirectX 12.
  • No Photo Mode settings list. Draft-level detail on the nineteen Photo Mode additions exists in this site's Photo Mode reference, but the menu path and in-game names for those options are not published.
  • Whether the six non-vitality Bard's Ballad effects are individually toggleable is unknown. The changelog labels two parameters for one effect and describes the rest by behaviour.
  • The two named upscapers' internal settings are not documented. DLSS 4.5, FSR 4 and XeSS 2.0 each have quality presets and Ray Reconstruction style options, and none of those are enumerated in the changelog.
  • Nothing has been tested. The game launches September 29 and day-one patch 1.01 exists, so every option described here is documented rather than verified, and the menu structure described from paths could differ from the shipped build.

FAQ

What are the graphics presets in The Witcher 3 Remastered?

Five, named Low, High, Ultra, RT, and RT: Ultra. They come from CD Projekt Red's official requirements table rather than from the settings screen, and they map to the six hardware tiers: Minimum is Low, Recommended is High, Ultra is Ultra, RT Minimum is RT, and both RT Recommended and Path Tracing are RT: Ultra. That means the preset names in the requirements table are the preset names in the menu. The individual toggles inside each preset are not published anywhere, which is the main limitation of any settings guide for this game.

What is GTAO and do I have it?

Ground Truth Ambient Occlusion, added as a new Screen Space Ambient Occlusion option. Screen space ambient occlusion is a technique that estimates occlusion from the depth buffer alone, and adding a ground truth option gives a second method to choose between that produces different results from the same scene. It matters to anyone who has an existing settings guide for the original game, because a choice that previously had one setting now has two, and an old recommendation may not be the better one.

Which upscalers are supported and is there a hardware requirement?

NVIDIA gets DLSS 4.5 together with Ray Reconstruction, Intel gets XeSS 2.0 together with Frame Generation and Low Latency, and AMD gets FSR 4 including Frame Generation and Anti-Lag 2. The AMD path has a hardware condition: FSR 4 is supported on Radeon RX 7000 series and newer, and below that the game uses FSR 2. Since the official requirements table names the RX 6600 XT as the Recommended-tier AMD GPU, a player on the recommended card receives FSR 2 rather than FSR 4, and nothing in the interface indicates the substitution.

Where are the new interface options in the settings menu?

Four paths are published. Hide herbs, boats and corpses on the minimap is in Settings, then Video, then Interface. Grouping nearby loot into a single window and the loot feed are both in Settings, then Gameplay, with the loot feed disable option there too. A new horse control input sensitivity slider is in Settings, then Controls. The Bard's Ballad preset is in the new Accessibility section, or can be enabled at new game start on the Just the Story difficulty. Other options in the update are described by what they change rather than by where they live.

What is the HUD Configuration rename, and did they merge the sections?

The change list states that the HUD Configuration section in Settings has been renamed to Interface, and separately documents a path of Settings, then Video, then Interface for the minimap filters. Whether those are the same section, two different sections both called Interface, or the published minimap path describes the previous location cannot be resolved from the documentation. It is a small navigational question and it is the kind of thing that produces a day-one support thread, so it is worth knowing which branch you are in before concluding an option is missing.

Can I turn individual Bard's Ballad effects on and off?

For one of them, yes, and that is the one with published settings labels. Vitality Regeneration Boost gives you "Activates below (%) Vitality" and "Regeneration Intensity" as two separate values, so the threshold and the rate can be adjusted independently. The other six effects, Infinite Breath, Unlimited Item Durability, Unlimited Boat Durability, Ignore Item Weight, Faster Boats and the Witcher Sense toggle, are described by what they do and are not labelled in the changelog, and whether they can be taken individually or only as part of the preset is not stated. It can be enabled mid-game from the Accessibility section rather than only at a fresh start.

Bottom Line

The useful thing about this reference is that it is honest about being partial, and the partial parts are the parts that matter. CD Projekt Red has published five graphics preset names, four exact menu paths, three upscaler paths with their conditions, one new occlusion technique, and the literal interface labels for two accessibility sliders. What has not been published is the list of individual graphics toggles, the configuration file location, or any of the Photo Mode option names. A settings guide for this game written today is therefore a map with named districts and no street names inside them, and pretending otherwise would be the failure mode.

The most immediately actionable items are the four menu paths, because those are the things a player will actually be hunting for in the first ten minutes. Hide herbs, boats and corpses on the minimap is under Video then Interface. Loot grouping and the loot feed are both under Gameplay, which is a slightly odd home for something that changes what appears on screen. The new horse control input sensitivity slider is under Controls, and its existence alongside the change that makes cantering and galloping require a press rather than a hold tells you how this menu will handle complaints: a behaviour change and a tuning option shipped together, rather than a behaviour change alone.

That rename is the item most likely to cause a small frustration on day one. HUD Configuration has been renamed to Interface, and there is separately a documented path of Video then Interface for the minimap options. Whether the sections merged, whether there are now two entries called Interface in different branches, or whether the published path describes the old location, cannot be resolved from the documentation, and a player who opens a top-level Interface section and does not find the minimap options will conclude they are missing rather than that they are in the wrong branch. The broader shape is worth noting regardless: a rebuilt DirectX 12 renderer and a rebuilt Photo Mode imply a rebuilt settings screen, and the menu is being reorganised rather than extended. A guide written against the 2015 game's menu would be worse than no guide.

The upscaler section is the best documented part of the PC settings surface and it contains the one item that changes what a specific card does. NVIDIA has DLSS 4.5 with Ray Reconstruction, Intel has XeSS 2.0 with Frame Generation and Low Latency, and AMD has FSR 4 with Frame Generation and Anti-Lag 2. Both frame generation implementations ship with a latency mitigation attached, which is a direct response to frame generation's known cost. But FSR 4 is limited to the Radeon RX 7000 series and newer, with FSR 2 used below that, and the official requirements table published the same day names the RX 6600 XT as the Recommended-tier AMD GPU. The card CDPR recommends cannot run the FSR 4 CDPR has documented, and nothing in the interface indicates the substitution. That is worth checking on day one, because frame generation behaviour that looks unfamiliar on a pre-7000 card is otherwise an unexplained mystery.

The graphics changes themselves are one new technique and two named features. GTAO has been added as a new screen space ambient occlusion option, which matters to anyone with an existing settings guide because a choice that previously had one setting now has two, and the older recommendation may not be the better one. Ray-Traced HairWorks is a separate toggle, and a reviewer who tested a pre-release build reported it doing little to bring hair up to contemporary standards, which is that reviewer's impression rather than a measurement. The HDR calibration panel gained new options, which is the setting most likely to matter for the 2160p path traced target in the requirements table.

And the accessibility section is where the developer has been most generous with detail, by a margin. Vitality Regeneration Boost publishes its two on-screen labels, "Activates below (%) Vitality" and "Regeneration Intensity", which is the only place in the entire settings documentation where literal interface text appears. Those two labels describe two different axes, a threshold and a rate, and that matters more than it might look: a player who wants less health pressure but the same combat can move the threshold without touching the rate. That is a finer control than a single accessibility toggle, and it is a different design philosophy from a blanket story mode. The other six effects in the preset, Infinite Breath, Unlimited Item Durability, Unlimited Boat Durability, Ignore Item Weight, Faster Boats and a Witcher Sense toggle that does not require holding the button, are described by behaviour rather than by label, and whether they can be taken individually or only as part of the preset is not stated. That is the second thing to check in game, after the mouse sensor control schemes the Switch 2 build ships with and also leaves undefined.

The eight interface changes that are not in the four named paths share a pattern worth recognising. Loot grouping, the loot feed, item tooltips, the updated map screen with a distinct marker for untracked quests, combined quest notifications, the Photo Mode exit prompt, the visible cursor on PC and the meditation timelapse. Six of the eight change what appears on screen and four add or move a list or a window. Three of them, loot grouping, the loot feed and the tooltips, form a coherent set aimed at one problem: the original game's loot windows were small, numerous and needed tabbing through, which in combat on a controller is worse than it sounds. A rebuilt renderer and a rebuilt Photo Mode, with the interface following behind them, is the coherent shape of the whole update. And not one of these eight has been tested by anyone outside CD Projekt Red, because the game launches tomorrow and day-one patch 1.01 exists, so every option in this reference is documented rather than verified.

Source: CD Projekt Red, See what's new in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Remastered, posted on the official forums on September 28, 2026, is the primary and sole source for every setting, path and label in this article. That includes the four published menu paths for the minimap filters, loot grouping, the loot feed and the horse control input sensitivity slider; the rename of the HUD Configuration section to Interface; the addition of GTAO as a new screen space ambient occlusion option; the expanded HDR calibration panel; Ray-Traced HairWorks; the new Accessibility section and the move of existing accessibility options into it; the Ukrainian localisation; the Bard's Ballad preset and its seven effects, including the two published labels "Activates below (%) Vitality" and "Regeneration Intensity" and the Just the Story difficulty; the item tooltips, updated map screen with distinct untracked quest markers, combined quest notifications, Photo Mode exit confirmation and visible PC cursor; the meditation timelapse; and the full PC upscaler support matrix of DLSS 4.5 with Ray Reconstruction, FSR 4 with Frame Generation and Anti-Lag 2 restricted to RX 7000 series and newer with FSR 2 below, and XeSS 2.0 with Frame Generation and Low Latency, together with the path tracing support. The five graphics preset names Low, High, Ultra, RT and RT: Ultra and their mapping to the six hardware tiers are from CD Projekt Red's support article on updated PC requirements published the same day, as is the RX 6600 XT as Recommended-tier AMD GPU that the FSR 4 gate affects. The observation that the minimap path may collide with the renamed section, the reading that the menu is being reorganised rather than extended, the pattern across the eight undocumented interface options, the point about the two axes of the vitality setting, and the pairing of the horse sensitivity slider with the press-instead-of-hold change as a response to the same complaint are this article's. The gaps listed are absences from the published documentation and are stated as gaps. The report that Ray-Traced HairWorks does little is attributed to a review of a pre-release build and is presented as that reviewer's impression rather than as a measurement. No graphics option, config path or menu location is described that is not published, and nothing here has been verified on hardware

Related: Witcher 3 Remastered Sept 29: Free Upgrade, 30 Changes [2026] | Witcher 3 Remastered: Free Upgrade, Sept 29 Launch [2026] | CDPR Published Six Sets of Witcher 3 Requirements. Steam Still Lists Windows 7 and a GTX 660 | Witcher 3 Remastered Switch 2 Locks Sept 29: 42GB, 40FPS, Free Upgrade [2026] | The Witcher 3 HD Reworked Project NextGen Edition

Share